2012 Massachusetts Baseball Umpires Association
Examination

(+) = Correct Answer

Q: The distance between home plate and the batter's box is six inches.
+ True
- False

Q: The size of the batter's box is three feet by six feet.
- True
+ False

Q: The first baseman has the option of wearing a glove or mitt.
+ True
- False

Q: The pitcher is required to have his entire pivot foot in contact with the rubber when delivering a
pitch. He may not pitch from the side of the rubber

- True

+ False

Q: A pitcher is allowed to go to his mouth on the eighteen foot circle as long as he wipes it off.
+ True
- False

Q: The penalty for a pitcher illegally going to his mouth on the circle is a balk.
- True
+ False

Q: The pitcher, after being visited by the manager twice in the same inning, may go play another
position, but may not return as a pitcher.

+ True

- False

Q: A pinch hitter who doesn't announce himself to the umpire is still considered to be a legal
substitute by rule.

+ True

- False

Q: Any pitched ball that hits the ground first, then hits the batter does not entitle the batter to first
base.

- True

+ False

Q: A runner is not permitted to steal on a legally caught foul tip.



-True
+ False

Q: The ball always remains alive on a legally caught foul tip.
+ True
- False

Q: Umpire interference causes the ball to become dead immediately.
- True
+ False

Q: Batter's interference causes the ball to become dead immediately.
- True
+ False

Q: Catcher's interference causes the ball to become dead immediately.
- True
+ False

Q: A ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's glove, then hits his mask and is
subsequently caught by him is a legally caught foul tip.

+ True

- False

Q: Even though the ball did not strike the catcher's glove or hand first, it still may be adjudged a
legally caught foul tip.

- True

+ False

Q: In ruling on the validity of any catch, the fielder must establish voluntary release.
+ True
- False

Q: The center fielder dives and makes secure possession of a ball in flight, he then hits the ground and
drops the ball. Umpire rules no catch.

+ True

- False

Q: Generally speaking, a fielder establishes voluntary release, when, after gaining secure possession,
he is in the act of taking the ball out of his glove.

+ True

- False

Q: The call of obstruction will always result in the awarding of bases.
- True

+ False

Q: There are two categories of obstruction and the umpire must be aware of the rules regarding both.



+ True
- False

Q: Anytime there is first play interference, runners must return to bases occupied at the time of the
pitch.
+ True
- False

Q: Interference on a batted ball need not be intentional.
+ True
- False

Q: Interference on a thrown ball should be intentional.
+ True
- False

Q: Spectator interference causes the ball to become dead immediately.
+ True
- False

Q: When determining interference, the umpire should consider: did the act of the offensive player or
team take away the opportunity of the defensive player or team to make or complete a play.

+ True

- False

Q: Awarding of bases is always governed by the position of runners at the time of pitch.
- True
+ False

Q: The pitcher sets, then steps back off the rubber, and throws to first on an attempted pickoff. The
throw is wild and goes out of play. Runner awarded second base because throw was by the pitcher.
- True

+ False

Q: Runner on first is stealing, ground ball to shortstop, shortstop bobbles the ball, shortstop's throw
to retire the batter goes out of play. Runner was at second at the time of the throw. Umpire awards
the runner on first, home.

- True

+ False

Q: Appeals on runners missing bases or leaving early must be made before the next pitch or play.
+ True
- False

Q: If an umpire believes a runner may have missed a base or left early, he is justified in ruling that
runner out.

- True

+ False



Q: If a runner has been awarded bases as on an overthrow into dead ball territory, he cannot be
subsequently ruled out on appeal for missing a base.

- True

+ False

Q: By interpretation a play is the act of the defensive team to legitimately try to retire a runner. A play
generally requires a decision by the umpire.

+ True

- False

Q: A pitcher faking to throw to a base to hold a runner is considered a play.
- True
+ False

Q: A balk is not considered a play.
- True
+ False

Q: Umpires should require verbal communication from the defense during appeals.
+ True
- False

Q: The ruling of a balk causes the play to become dead immediately.
- True
+ False

Q: With no runners on base, the pitcher can never balk.
+ True
- False

Q: An umpire can rule a balk and a ball on the same play.
- True
+ False

QUESTIONS 40-50 DEAL WITH NON PROFESSIONAL BUT MIAA/MBUA
RULES AND OR POLICIES.

Q: All bats must be BBCOR certified to be legal.
+ True
- False

Q: A coach starts questioning the ball/strike judgment of the plate umpire, these comments become
frequent and excessive. The umpire should issue a strike one warning.

+ True

- False



Q: Players are permitted to use BESR certified bats if no BBCOR are available.
- True
+ False

Q: A coach exhibits extremely abusive and vulgar behavior towards the umpires. Umpires must issue
the strike one warning prior to ejection.

- True

+ False

Q: Any contact between the runner and the fielder must be either interference or obstruction.
- True
+ False

Q: If the catcher is in the act of fielding the ball and the runner is trying to score and the ball and the
runner arrive at the same time there is no intent by the runner to initiate or maliciously create
contact, such contact is considered legal.

+ True

- False

Q: A runner is allowed to slide past second base or popup slide into second base during a potential
double play as long as the umpire determines these actions not to be overt with the sole intent to
break up the double play.

+ True

- False

Q: On all force plays, runners are still required to slide directly toward the base, not toward the
fielder.

+ True

- False

Q: Anytime a runner violates the force/play slide or collision rule, he must be ejected.
- True
+ False

Q: Whenever possible, umpires should remain after the game to witness and participate in the post
game handshake.

+ True

- False

Q: If one or both of the umpires feel their presence can lead to a problem by remaining for the post
game handshake, they should leave the field immediately after the game.

+ True

- False



